Chapter 18

screenshot-95

Kyle’s P.O.V.

Screenshot-225It’s been six months since that awful night in the hospital, and I am still having the nightmares. It replays over and over the doctor saying, “Here comes Baby C!” and waiting for what seemed like an eternity to hear a tiny cry that never came. We named her Rose Elizabeth Scott.
Screenshot-224 She is buried in the corner of the yard in our new house. It’s a blessing to have her there but it also makes me feel that much more guilty. I am constantly plagued by guilt. There are so many…(voice breaks)…..what ifs. what if I had never left? What if I had been to the doctor’s appointments? What if this? What if that? What if…what if..whatifwhatifwhatif. I’m sorry, I can’t talk about this anymore.

Penelope’s P.O.V.

Screenshot-204  It amazes me how you can love someone you have never met yet. It’s a beautiful day in the yard, I have baby Lilah Grace in my arms and all I can think of is her. I know it’ll take some time but it feels like an eternity has passed. Screenshot-206Screenshot-219 Sometimes, it’s harder because he can barely stand to hold Lilah without breaking down, so he mainly cares for our baby boy, Joel Michael.  Don’t get me wrong, I love each and every one of our children. I just can’t help but grieve. This time though, I have Kyle to lean on. Well, we lean on each other. Screenshot-213 There’ll be times when I’m standing outside, and I see him and we both burst into sobs and cling to each other. I help him with his guilt of not being there. Screenshot-212And he helps me by just being his warm, caring self.
Screenshot-210  It helps that we can read each other like a book. Screenshot-211  One day, he came home from work with his hands behind his back, “Pen, I love you, and I just wanted to show you how much!” With that said, he presented a bouquet of white daisies and nearly shoved them in my face. I smiled for the first time in weeks and clapped my hands! “Oh, Kyle, they’re beautiful!” Screenshot-215  I was so lucky to have him. I caressed his cheek softly as tears of just plain raw emotion poured down my face. He wiggled his eyebrows together, “I was thinking what if we surprised the kids when they get home from school by having a slip-N-slide party?” He rubbed his hands together mischievously.Screenshot-218 An hour after we set it up, Kyle pushed me through the water, “Hey!” I cried playfully, “The kids aren’t even home yet.” He shrugged and winked, “So?” Screenshot-217 I think we must have slid at least a dozen times until the kids came home and begged us to let them go. Screenshot-226Afterwards, we ordered pizza and helped the kids with their homework. It was a great end to an even better day. It was also the first time I hadn’t thought about Rose in a few hours.

A.N. Here are some pics of Penny and Kyle’s new home in Moonlight Falls.

Screenshot-203Screenshot-227 Screenshot-228 Screenshot-229 Screenshot-230

Just A Heads Up :)

I haven’t posted in a few days but I am thinking of concluding the One Step At A Time series here soon. I am thinking two more chapters and then Ch. 20 will be the epilogue.So I was just curious to what your thoughts are.